Logo


Coastal information system Oder estuary


Förderer
Diese Seite auf Deutsch Strona w jezyku polskim This page in English 
Impressionen: Stettiner Haff

BaltCICA - Climate Change: Impacts, Costs and Adaptation in the Baltic Sea Region

BaltCICA is designed to focus on the most imminent problems that climate change will cause in the quite densely populated coastal zone. Changes in the occurrence of floods (river floods as well as storm surges) and sea level rise caused by climate change as well as impacts on water availability and quality can be expected. Not only the assessment of the impacts, but the development, appraisal and implementation of adaptation measures (structural ones as well as organizational and institutional measures) must be promoted. To achieve the above goals a multi-level transnational approach will be applied. Concrete adaptation measures will be tested and implemented in at least one case study and later on transferred and tested in other case studies dealing with similar adaptation questions. On a pan-Baltic level the costs of higher sea level and increased flood risk will be assessed. A concept for process management on climate change adaptation and mitigation will be developed supported by a meta-evaluation and conceptualization of case study results. Furthermore joint concepts of adaptation will be applied in a number of case studies. Based on the experience and knowledge of the project participants, applicable approaches will be offered to other interested parties with the support of the Union of the Baltic Cities. Thereby BaltCICA is based on results of the previous projects SEAREG and ASTRA.

Within the project the EUCC Germany is an independent partner and involved in the implementation of climate change adaptation measures, particularly in an implementation project regarding tourism and beach management along the German coast (Mecklenburg - Western Pommerania). Based on the scientific results of the project partner IOW (Leibniz Institute for Baltic Sea Research Warnemuende) adaptation measures concerted with stakeholders will be developed and implemented for regional impacts of climate change due to changing water qualities in coastal waters

BaltCICA is coordinated by the Geological Survey of Finland (GTK) and 24 member institutions from Finland, Germany, Denmark, Sweden, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Norway. The project is running from february 2009 to january 2012 and has a budget of EUR 5,3 million and is supported by the INTERREG IV B - programme of the European Commission.

 

project homepage: http://www.baltcica.org

Logo


Küsteninformationssystem Odermündung


Förderer
Diese Seite auf Deutsch Strona w jezyku polskim This page in English 
Impressionen: Stettiner Haff

BaltCICA - Climate Change: Impacts, Costs and Adaptation in the Baltic Sea Region

BaltCICA konzentriert sich auf die wichtigsten bevorstehenden Probleme, die der Klimawandel in der dicht besiedelten Küstenregion der Ostsee hervorrufen wird. So sind Veränderungen bei Hochwasserereignissen (entlang von Flüssen, aber auch bei Sturmfluten) sowie beim Anstieg des Meeresspiegels, Auswirkungen auf die Wasserverfügbarkeit und nicht zuletzt auf die Wasserqualität zu erwarten. Im Rahmen von BaltCICA werden solche Klimafolgen nicht nur abgeschätzt, sondern vor allem auch geeignete Anpassungsmaßnahmen entwickelt, geprüft und implementiert (bauliche Maßnahmen ebenso wie organisatorische und institutionelle Maßnahmen). Entstehende Kosten eines höheren Meeresspiegels und Hochwasserrisikos werden auf einem pan-baltischen Niveau abgeschätzt und ein Konzept für das Management von Anpassungen an den Klimawandel entwickelt. Dieses wird durch eine Meta-Evaluation und Konzeptualisierung der Ergebnisse aus den Fallstudien unterstützt. Zusätztlich werden gemeinsame Konzepte zur Anpassung in verschiedenen Fallbeispielen angewandt. Basierend auf den Erkenntnissen aus BaltCICA werden anwendbare Lösungen weiteren Interessierten angeboten und durch die Union of the Baltic Cities unterstützt. Das Projekt baut hierbei auch auf die Ergebnisse der Vorläuferprojekte SEAREG und ASTRA auf.

Die EUCC-Deutschland ist als eigenständiger Partner in dem Interregprojekt beteiligt und u.a. involviert in den Wissenstransfer und die Entwicklung von Anpassungsmaßnahmen hauptsächlich in dem Bereich Tourismus entlang der Mecklenburg-Vorpommerischen Küste. Basierend auf den wissenschaftlichen Ergebnissen des Projektpartners IOW (Leibniz-Institut für Ostseeforschung Warnemünde), werden Anpassungsmaßnahmen für die regionalen Auswirkungen des Klimawandels wie bspw. veränderte Wasserqualität in den Küstengewässern gemeinsam mit Stakeholdern erarbeitet.

An dem vom Geological Survey of Finland (GTK) koordinierten Projekt sind insgesamt 24 Einrichtungen aus Finnland, Deutschland, Dänemark, Schweden, Estland, Lettland, Litauen und Norwegen beteiligt. Das Projekt läuft von Februar 2009 bis Januar 2012 und hat ein Budget von insgesamt 5,3 Mio €, gefördert durch das INTERREG IV B-Programm der Europäischen Kommission.

 

Projekthomepage: http://www.baltCICA.org